The Secret Life of the Seine

The Secret Life of the Seine

Mort Rosenblum / Dec 15, 2019

The Secret Life of the Seine Mort Rosenblum a celebrated foreign correspondent invites us aboard his fifty four foot launch tied up in the center of Paris and introduces us to the characters who share his life along the river

  • Title: The Secret Life of the Seine
  • Author: Mort Rosenblum
  • ISBN: 9780306810749
  • Page: 452
  • Format: Paperback
  • Mort Rosenblum, a celebrated foreign correspondent, invites us aboard his fifty four foot launch tied up in the center of Paris and introduces us to the characters who share his life along the river, ranging from eccentric movie stars and reclusive novelists to barge families just scraping by He then hauls in the bow line for an unforgettable tour of the river itself fromMort Rosenblum, a celebrated foreign correspondent, invites us aboard his fifty four foot launch tied up in the center of Paris and introduces us to the characters who share his life along the river, ranging from eccentric movie stars and reclusive novelists to barge families just scraping by He then hauls in the bow line for an unforgettable tour of the river itself from its source to its mouth The Secret Life of the Seine is a love story between man and boat and the river that they live on, a discourse on the sensual beauty of France and the art of living well In the tradition of A Year in Provence, Under the Tuscan Sun, and Paris to the Moon, here is what Garry Trudeau called a moveable feast with a top speed of five knots fast enough for fun, languid enough for dreaming Take a trip you ll never take This is what books are for.

    • Free Read [History Book] Ð The Secret Life of the Seine - by Mort Rosenblum ↠
      452 Mort Rosenblum
    • thumbnail Title: Free Read [History Book] Ð The Secret Life of the Seine - by Mort Rosenblum ↠
      Posted by:Mort Rosenblum
      Published :2019-09-14T09:52:15+00:00

    About "Mort Rosenblum"

      • Mort Rosenblum

        Mort Rosenblum Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the The Secret Life of the Seine book, this is one of the most wanted Mort Rosenblum author readers around the world.


    993 Comments

    1. The Seine is a river that enchants virtually everyone who sees it. Its banks are replete with history and beautiful scenery, and, while it's no Mississippi, it has shoals and sand bars enough for river men to constantly mark the twain.Rosenblum decided to write a book about the Seine's secret life that he discovered almost by chance. He and his girlfriend lost the lease on their apartment so they purchased a fifty-four foot ex-yacht from some friends who coincidentally had to return to England. [...]


    2. This is the personal story of a guy who lives on a "peniche" (a barge) on the Seine River. His modern references are a little dated as the book was written in 1994, but he artfully captures the spirit of the river. His historical commentary was a little dry in some parts, but I truly enjoyed the accounts of his personal adventures; the second half of the book was better than the first half.


    3. This book made me want to rent a barge and cruise the European river and canal network. It's a wonderful insight into a lifestyle rare in the US.


    4. Good information, but presented in a stream of consciousness manner. The authors up and down the length of the Seine, and criss-crosses Paris and the smaller towns along the river. One must refer to the hand-drawn maps frequently to get your bearings.But, again, very interesting information!



    5. The author is describing a lifestyle, and an economy, that is for the most part impossible from the American point of view. For historical reasons: excepting the Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio rivers and the Erie Canal rivers haven't meant much for transport in the US.


    6. This guy was a semi-retired war corespondent who was given the cushy job of being the bureau chief in Paris. By circumstance one of his men is given a position somewhere else and Mort having recently forced to give up his apartment takes over for the guy. Cept the apartment happens to be a canal boat. Mort's adventures and acceptance of being "on the water" results in a book about the Seine and like the incredible "Beautiful Swimmers" by Warren, Mort lays it all out there and it goes down like a [...]


    7. I began this book during my April school vacation. Many of my friends were traveling and this book satisfied my Wanderlust. The book is written by Mort Rosenblum, an American author and journalist. He tells about his life living on a houseboat on the Seine River in France. I enjoyed reading all of the stories about the people he met on his journeys, the different regions of France and even the logistical things about living on a boat that I had never really thought about. This book was really ou [...]


    8. Like any good travel writer (at least the ones I want to read), Rosenblum goes beyond prosaic description and gets into the heart of his country. Country in this case is the river Seine and the lands through which it meanders, and the "heart" is Rosenblum's houseboat/barge and its fellows trying to stay in the river life they love. The journey is not always pleasant but seems to be truthful and ever interesting.


    9. The Seine is so much more than the worldly riverof epic history. It is in many ways the stitches that hold France in such historic and romantic memory.The Seine's magnetism seems to draw characters up and down its winding rural and city banks. The 'Secret Life' also draws the dreamers who imagine living on the river and in this case the author, who left one life to dive into another with the purchase of a 54 foot barge anchored in the center of Paris.


    10. I enjoyed this book very much. Some of us can't afford a peniche or have the where-withall to sail one down the vert banks of the Seine. Mort's views of the river and those who live on it are wonderful. I guess this is about the ultimate Vie de Clochard. Of course it's not all wine and brie. Lots of twists and turns from Ville to ville and lock to lock. Have to see the gardens of Givernay and champagne country. Ooh la la!


    11. I really enjoyed the first 3rd of this book about the upper reaches of the Seine, but past that it became somewhat repetitive, even repeating short statements of fact. It was not organized well, and seemed to jump around. I think it needed more editing. I got a little tired of the flippant voice. which I think was supposed to be humorous.


    12. A very charming grand reportage styled as an impressionist painting. It helps a lot if you already have some affection for Paris, French (or some other) countryside, river life, history, etc. So much better, if you ever dreamt of spending some time on a river boat. I ticked all these boxes. Rosenblum is a good writer and (can't hide my envy) a bloody lucky bugger. :-)


    13. More about France and this time all about the history, towns and (of course) Paris, from the source near Dijon to Le Havre on the Atlantic as well as Rosenblum's adventures in HIS barge. He was formerly the editor of the International Herald-Tribune in Paris. It makes me want to do the same thing by land and by water.


    14. Great writing for a great river. Rosenblum knocked out a homer of a travel book here with plenty of nicely done boat talk, too. He lived on the river for a while, something that appealed to me when living in Europe, but it was too far out of reach.Rosenblum seems to have gotten out of reach lately. He is a consistently good, often great writer. I hope he's working on something.


    15. Delightful read that literally takes you on a cruise from the source of the Seine to where it flows into the English Channel. Rosenblum does let you stretch your legs on land once in a while, too. The people, natural beauty, politics, practicalities, history, ebb and flow are all covered here in varying degrees of detail.


    16. When one thinks of the Seine, one automatically thinks of Paris - the poems and songs are numerous. Rosenblum takes the reader beyond Paris and into the countryside of the Seine - a rich and interesting read.


    17. Unable to finish this book. It is written well with much description and clarity but it does not seem to flow in one pattern; he skips around from the history of the Seine to people he encounters on their boats. Also, his history writing is too in-depth for me and I like history.


    18. Meanders but then the Seine is the subject! France, as viewed from the water; the author begins at the Seine's headwaters, and follows it to the ocean. He brings the people who live and work on the water alive, reveling in their triumphs, commiserating with their failures.


    19. Guide to life along the river. We get to know the floating village between Pont de l'Alma and the Pont de la Concorde first and then setting out from Paris the outlying provinces to the rivers source.


    20. A whimsical mind trip down the Seine, from Paris to Honfleur. I learned a lot: do you know what a peniche is? Light reading, good for falling asleep at night. I imagine it would be a big hit with boat people.


    21. great to pick up and put down over 3.5 years since no story line to follow. not super exciting but fun to read about France.






    Leave a Reply